Best M&A Advisers in Manchester (2026): North West Corporate Finance Bench
Co-founder at Peony. Former M&A at Nomura, early-stage VC at Backed VC, and growth-equity / secondaries investor at Target Global. I write about investors, fundraising, and deal advisors from the deal-side perspective I spent years in.
Best M&A Advisers in Manchester (2026): North West Corporate Finance Bench
Quick answer: Manchester has a real corporate finance bench, and the bench itself is being bought. Four firms publish dated 2025-26 North West deals as adviser of record on their own pages, and a fifth carries one dated by Google News: Dow Schofield Watts (Daresbury HQ, Manchester office at Cubo Spinningfields; Koto's acquisition of Stereo Creative, 14 September 2026), Knight Corporate Finance (Mount Street; CityFibre's sale of Entanet, 11 September 2026), GP Bullhound (Manchester office since 2011; Zuto's majority investment from Bridgepoint, 19 November 2025), HURST Corporate Finance (Stockport; Wilkinson Cowan Partnership to Roger Hannah, 26 May 2026) and Cowgills (Bolton; Travel Seen's acquisition of eShores, 15 August 2025 per Google News; GreenThumb to KEYTO Group, undated). KBS Corporate and Benchmark International run the volume business-sales lane; Cavendish, Rothschild & Co's Arrowpoint Advisory, Clearwater and Marktlink are national and international desks with a Manchester presence; KPMG, Grant Thornton and FRP Corporate Finance are the accountancy-led teams. Three ownership changes matter more than the ranking: HURST joined Dains Group on 27 January 2026, Beever and Struthers merged into Menzies on 4 August 2025, and KeyCorp completed its acquisition of Clearwater's UK business on 4 August 2026. Business Asset Disposal Relief has been 18% since 6 April 2026 on the first £1m of lifetime gains, against a 24% main rate.
I'm Sean Yu, co-founder of Peony, a data room company. I have built and watched thousands of data rooms across my career — about 1,000 of those when I was an investor at two funds with a combined $6.3 billion in AUM, and the rest across the 6,800+ teams Peony serves today. Peony's registered office is at 86-90 Paul Street in London, and a good share of the rooms we host are UK sale processes, which is why a data-room founder is writing about the advisers who run them from Manchester.
Here is the honest read. Five independent AI query-sampling runs I ran before writing could all name Dow Schofield Watts and Clearwater unaided. Not one knew that HURST now belongs to a Midlands group backed by IK Partners, that Beever and Struthers no longer exists as an independent firm, or that Clearwater's UK business is now owned by an American bank. The same answers label a Bolton business-sales house "FCA-regulated" when the FCA register, checked on 19 September 2026, carries no authorised firm, appointed representative or exempt professional firm under its name. This guide corrects each and tiers the real firms by dated, published evidence.
The playbook: under roughly £2m, the volume business-sales lane; from roughly £2m to £50m, one of the five firms with dated 2025-26 deals, with an accountancy team on the vendor due diligence; above roughly £50m, or when your buyers are international strategics, add one London or international desk and pick on the buyer list each shows you. This guide sits under the national Best M&A Advisers in the UK guide, alongside the London page, and the master hub, Best M&A Advisors.
What is the 2026 Manchester M&A backdrop, and why is the adviser bench itself being bought?
Three things define the market a North West seller walks into this autumn: a UK deal count that has fallen hard, a value picture dominated by foreign buyers, and an adviser bench consolidating faster than the companies it advises.
The count is down and the foreign share is up. The ONS's provisional figures for completed deals worth £1 million or more show 353 changes of majority ownership involving UK companies in Q2 2026 (April to June), down from 407 in Q1. Domestic deals numbered 130 in Q2 2026 against 241 in Q2 2025, a fall of 46%, and were worth £4.2 billion; inward deals by foreign buyers were worth £25.4 billion on 162 completed transactions, about six times the domestic value (ONS, 1 September 2026; provisional, completed deals only). For a Manchester owner, the buyer most likely to pay a full price is foreign or sponsor-backed.
The bench is being bought. In fourteen months, three of the names on every Manchester list changed hands. Beever and Struthers, the Manchester-headquartered accountancy firm, announced its merger into Menzies LLP on 4 August 2025, creating "a national firm with a combined fee income of £110 million" headquartered in London (Menzies). HURST, the Stockport firm below, announced on 27 January 2026 that it "has become part of the Dains Group, a fast-growing Top 30 UK accountancy and advisory firm" headquartered in the Midlands and backed by IK Partners (HURST). And KeyCorp, the parent of KeyBanc Capital Markets, told the SEC in its Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026: "We announced an agreement to acquire Clearwater U.K., which is expected to expand our middle-market mergers and acquisitions advisory capabilities internationally" (KeyCorp Q2 2026 10-Q, filed 4 August 2026). KeyCorp announced the acquisition on 22 April 2026 and completed it on 4 August 2026 after FCA clearance, the same day that 10-Q was filed: it "has completed its previously-announced acquisition of Clearwater Corporate Finance LLP" (PR Newswire, 4 August 2026); the price was not disclosed.
I call this the Adviser-Consolidation Clock: a seller who interviews three Manchester firms in the spring may sign with a different owner in the autumn, and Clearwater is the live example, announced in April and American-owned by August. The engagement-letter question to add this year: who owns you today, who will own you when my deal completes, and what happens to my team and fee terms if that changes?
London has come north as the homegrown firms are absorbed. Cavendish, the AIM-listed group formed from finnCap and Cenkos, announced a Manchester office at No.1 St Michael's in November 2024 (Business Live, 20 November 2024), and Rothschild & Co's mid-market arm, Arrowpoint Advisory, hired Shahbaz Qasim to lead a Manchester business in May 2025 (Insider Media, 6 May 2025; Consultancy.uk, 7 May 2025). One honesty note: I have read no reliable public Manchester-metro deal-volume or multiples dataset for 2024-26, so any metro multiple you are quoted is a rule of thumb.
Which corporate finance advisers actually cover Manchester in 2026?
Fourteen names in four tiers: five with 2025-26 North West deals as adviser of record (four dated on their own pages, Cowgills dated only by a Google News stamp), two in the volume business-sales lane, four national or international desks with a Manchester presence, and three accountancy-led teams evidenced at headline level. The FCA register pass for this guide, run on 19 September 2026, sorted the bench into three groups: directly authorised firms with a firm reference number (GP Bullhound, Cavendish, Clearwater, Arrowpoint Advisory through N M Rothschild & Sons, FRP, KPMG, Grant Thornton and, in the nomad note below, Zeus Capital); ICAEW Designated Professional Body exempt professional firms, which the register lists without an FRN and expressly as not regulated by the FCA (Dow Schofield Watts, HURST and Cowgills); and firms with no register record at all (Knight Corporate Finance, KBS Corporate, Marktlink and Benchmark International). Each row states which.
1. Dow Schofield Watts (DSW)
- HQ / offices: 7400 Daresbury Park, Daresbury, Warrington WA4 4BS, with a Manchester office at Cubo, Spinningfields, 1 Hardman Street, M3 3EB, plus Stockport, Cheadle Hulme, Leeds, London, Birmingham, Nottingham, Leicester, Cardiff, Reading and Guildford (dswcapital.com/offices).
- Type and ownership: partner-led "business advisory group"; the footer reads "DSW Capital plc", the AIM-listed licensing group that carries the brand. Deal Advisory covers Corporate Finance, Debt Advisory, International M&A and Transaction Services; a founding member of the Pandea Global M&A network.
- Registration: no regulator line on the pages I read, but the FCA register, checked on 19 September 2026, lists Dow Schofield Watts Corporate Advisory LLP (7400 Daresbury Park) and its London and Midlands corporate finance companies as licensed by the ICAEW under the Designated Professional Body regime and listed on the FCA register as exempt professional firms, not FCA-authorised; that is a lawful route for accountancy-led corporate finance and carries no FRN. DSW Capital plc, the AIM-listed licensor, has no register record.
- Deal evidence: adviser to Koto, the WestBridge-backed brand and digital agency, on its acquisition of Stereo Creative, published 14 September 2026, run by "Gregg Pendlington, Alex Odlin, and Ben McKie from the Corporate Finance team in the North West" (release); and two undated cards: adviser to Absolute Financial Group on its acquisition of Platinum Independent Financial Services, "adding £280m of assets under advice" (release), and adviser to Fylde Fresh and Fabulous, a Lancashire potato and vegetable processor, on its acquisition by Chiltern Capital (release).
- Verdict: Is Dow Schofield Watts the best corporate finance adviser in Manchester? On published dated evidence it is the most active firm on this page with the widest North West footprint, so it is the default first call for a £2m-£50m owner-managed sale in Greater Manchester or Cheshire.
2. Knight Corporate Finance (K3 Advisory Group)
- Offices: 3rd Floor, The Lexicon, Mount Street, Manchester M2 5NT, "a short walk from St Peter's Square", and 20 St Andrew Street, London EC4A 3AG (knightcf.com/contact). Bolton is the parent group's head office, not Knight's.
- Type and ownership: "a corporate finance boutique that provides advice to business owners and entrepreneurs in the Technology sector", established 2008, "now as part of K3 Advisory Group". Company number 06773338.
- Registration: Knight Corporate Finance Limited is not on the FCA register as an authorised firm, appointed representative or exempt professional firm when we checked on 19 September 2026; ask the firm which exclusion or exemption it relies on, and read the national page's FCA-gate section for what that means. The group's authorised entity is K3 Deal Advisory Capital Markets Limited, FRN 1009438, authorised since August 2024, so ask whether your engagement letter names Knight or that entity.
- Deal evidence: adviser to CityFibre, "the UK's largest independent full fibre platform", on its sale of Entanet, the Telford-based wholesale aggregator it bought in 2017, to Virtual1 founder Tom O'Hagan, published 11 September 2026, "led by Paul Billingham, Co-Founder of Knight CF" (release). Insider Media reported a second 2026 mandate on 20 March 2026 ("Managed IT provider acquired by counterpart - Knight Corporate Finance advises"); the parties are not printed.
- Verdict: the Manchester call for a managed-IT, telecoms, software or channel-reseller sale where the likely buyer is a sponsor-backed consolidator. Confirm which K3 brand and entity you are signing with.
3. GP Bullhound (Manchester)
- Offices: London-headquartered technology investment bank; Managing Partner Hugh Campbell dates the Manchester office to 2011 in the Zuto release ("when I opened up the Manchester office for GP Bullhound"). No street address is printed, so I print none.
- Registration: not stated on the release pages I read, but confirmed on the FCA register on 19 September 2026: GP Bullhound Corporate Finance Ltd, FRN 915053, authorised since 4 May 2020, corporate finance business only; the older GP Bullhound LLP record is no longer authorised, so check that the entity on your engagement letter is the authorised one.
- Deal evidence: exclusive financial adviser to Zuto, "the UK's leading online car finance marketplace", on its majority investment from Bridgepoint's Small Cap Growth fund, datelined "Manchester, 19 November 2025", team Hugh Campbell, Joe Quiligotti and Evgeny Yakovlev (gpbullhound.com); exclusive financial adviser to Origo on its sale to iPipeline, a Roper Technologies business unit, datelined London, 1 September 2026, with Quiligotti again on the team.
- Verdict: the North West's answer to "who sells a £30m-plus technology business to a sponsor or a US strategic".
4. HURST Corporate Finance (Dains Group)
- Offices: 3 Stockport Exchange, Stockport SK1 3GG (registered office), with a Manchester office on 0161 832 6633 (hurst.co.uk). Company number 12035107.
- Type and ownership: accountancy-led corporate finance for owner-managers, part of Dains Group since 27 January 2026 (IK Partners-backed); the announcement says "Your existing HURST team remains unchanged".
- Registration: the footer states that HURST Accountants Limited is "regulated for a range of investment business activities by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. Our ICAEW Firm registration number is C006671639." The FCA register, checked on 19 September 2026, matches: HURST Accountants Limited is licensed by the ICAEW under the Designated Professional Body regime and listed on the FCA register as an exempt professional firm, not FCA-authorised, a lawful route for accountancy-led corporate finance, and it is the only bench firm on this page that prints that statement in its own footer.
- Deal evidence: adviser to the shareholders of Wilkinson Cowan Partnership, a Cheadle Hulme property and construction consultancy, on its sale to Stockport chartered surveyors Roger Hannah, dated 26 May 2026, advisers Nigel Barratt and Isabelle Bennett with Liz Gallagher on tax, the fourth deal HURST has run for the founders since 2016 (release). HURST's undated published list includes PCS Asbestos Consultants' sale to Marlowe and two employee-ownership transitions (Instinct Resourcing, and TNEI via the tax team).
- Verdict: the accountancy-led choice for a Stockport, Cheadle or Cheshire owner-manager in the £2m-£20m band, and the only Manchester-area firm with published EOT engagements. Sign it knowing the group is now Dains.
5. Cowgills Deal Advisory
- Offices: registered office 4th Floor, 5B The Parklands, Middlebrook, Bolton BL6 4SD, with offices in Manchester (0161 827 1200), Liverpool, Stockport and Wigan (cowgills.co.uk).
- Type: independent accountancy firm (Accounts, Audit, Business Recovery, Deal Advisory, Tax). Its track-record page lists about eighty undated deals.
- Registration: no regulator line on the pages I read, but the FCA register, checked on 19 September 2026, lists Cowgills Corporate Finance Limited (Bolton BL6 4SD) as licensed by the ICAEW under the Designated Professional Body regime and listed on the FCA register as an exempt professional firm, not FCA-authorised; a lawful route for accountancy-led corporate finance, with no FRN attached.
- Deal evidence: adviser to the shareholders of GreenThumb, "the UK's largest lawn care provider" with almost 300,000 subscribing customers, on its sale to KEYTO Group, a Fidelio Capital portfolio company, led by Ben Barlow after "over 18 months" of work (deal page; undated). Adviser to Travel Seen on its acquisition of eShores, carried by Google News as a Cowgills item dated 15 August 2025. Undated entries include Solen Energy's sale to Kingspan and Dekko Window Systems' sale to Inwido.
- Verdict: the widest published North West track record at the £2m-£20m end, from Bolton, Wigan and Liverpool as much as Manchester, and the firm that dates nothing. Ask for the dates before you weigh the list.
6. KBS Corporate (K3 Advisory Group)
- HQ: K3 House, 5 Springfield Court, Bolton BL3 2NT; "KBS Corporate Sales Ltd (KBS) is a subsidiary of K3 Advisory Group Limited. Registered number: 04141555" (kbscorporate.com).
- Type and ownership: the group's volume business-sales brand, founded 1998. Its own page says K3 "was floated on the London Stock Exchange's AIM in 2017" and "In 2023, the Group was acquired by Sun European Partners". The current brand is K3 Advisory Group; K3 Capital Group was the AIM-listed name. The site carries a "Business Brokers" service page, so the label is the firm's own.
- Registration: KBS Corporate Sales Ltd is not on the FCA register as an authorised firm, appointed representative or exempt professional firm when we checked on 19 September 2026; ask the firm which exclusion or exemption it relies on, and read the national page's FCA-gate section for what that means. The group's authorised entity is K3 Deal Advisory Capital Markets Limited, FRN 1009438, authorised since August 2024, at the same Bolton address.
- Deal evidence: "Creative Solutions (Manchester) sold by KBS Corporate", a release headline dated 16 April 2026 via Google News; the buyer is not printed because I did not open it.
- Verdict: the highest-volume seller of UK businesses on its own numbers, and the right lane for a sub-£2m sale that needs a marketed listing to a buyer database. A volume rank measures deal count, which small deals dominate; it is not a fit test for a £20m business.
7. Cavendish (Manchester)
- Offices: Gilbanks, No 1 St Michael's, 36 Jackson's Row, Manchester M2 5WD; headquarters 1 Bartholomew Close, London EC1A 7BL; Edinburgh and Birmingham (cavendish.com). The footer prints Company Reg No 06198898, which Companies House shows is Cavendish Capital Markets Limited, the operating subsidiary at 1 Bartholomew Close; the AIM-listed parent, Cavendish Financial plc, is a separate company.
- Type: "a full service investment bank and trusted advisor to ambitious companies" offering growth equity, private M&A, nomad and broking, IPO and debt advisory.
- Registration: confirmed on the FCA register on 19 September 2026: Cavendish Capital Markets Limited, FRN 467766, authorised since 31 July 2007, London; the register does not show the plc parent, which is the unregulated listed holding company. Deal evidence: no North West deal with Cavendish as adviser of record captured.
- Verdict: the Manchester door to a London full-service bank for a founder who may want growth equity or an AIM listing as an alternative to a sale. Ask for North West completions since the office opened.
8. Arrowpoint Advisory (Rothschild & Co)
- Presence: a North West mid-market team led from Manchester by Shahbaz Qasim since May 2025 (Insider Media, 6 May 2025; Consultancy.uk, 7 May 2025). No street address captured. On the FCA register, checked on 19 September 2026, Arrowpoint Advisory is a trading name of N M Rothschild & Sons Limited, FRN 124451, and the former Arrowpoint Advisory LLP (FRN 400968, the renamed Livingstone Partners LLP) has not been authorised since 21 November 2022, so the engagement letter should name the Rothschild entity. No North West deal captured since the team opened.
- Verdict: the newest entrant with the biggest brand. Ask for North West completions, not the parent's league table.
9. Clearwater (Birmingham-headquartered, with a North West presence)
- Presence and ownership: the UK mid-market house is Birmingham-based (Consultancy.uk, 15 December 2025, "Clearwater invests in new Birmingham base") with a North West team; its site blocks automated readers, so I could not confirm the current Manchester address. KeyCorp-owned since 4 August 2026 (Clearwater Corporate Finance LLP): KeyCorp announced the acquisition of Clearwater's UK business on 22 April 2026 and completed it on 4 August 2026 after FCA clearance (PR Newswire, 4 August 2026: it "has completed its previously-announced acquisition of Clearwater Corporate Finance LLP"); price not disclosed.
- Registration: confirmed on the FCA register on 19 September 2026: Clearwater Corporate Finance LLP, FRN 483062, authorised since 24 July 2008, corporate finance business only, with its head office on the register at 10 Livery Street, Birmingham B3 2NU. Deal evidence: no 2025-26 North West deal with Clearwater as adviser of record captured.
- Verdict: a serious mid-market house under new ownership. Ask whether the KeyCorp integration changes your deal team, and for dated North West completions.
10. Marktlink (Manchester)
- Offices: 3 Parsonage, Manchester M3 2HW, with UK offices in Birmingham, London and Nottingham and a UK contact number on a Manchester 0161 code (marktlink.com/uk/contact); the group is Dutch, headquartered in Deventer, with offices across northern Europe.
- Registration: Marktlink is not on the FCA register as an authorised firm, appointed representative or exempt professional firm when we checked on 19 September 2026; ask the firm which exclusion or exemption it relies on, and read the national page's FCA-gate section for what that means; any Dutch AFM status sits outside the FCA register. Deal evidence: none captured.
- Verdict: the cross-border option for a North West owner whose realistic buyers are Dutch, German or Nordic strategics. Verify UK completions before weighting the brand.
11. KPMG North West Corporate Finance
- Evidence: a "Senior leadership appointment in KPMG's North West Corporate Finance team" (Insider Media, 7 May 2026) and new North West corporate finance partners (Insider Media, 24 November 2023). No North West deal with KPMG as lead adviser captured.
- Registration: KPMG LLP, FRN 210513, is directly authorised, and there is no separate KPMG corporate finance entity on the FCA register, so the advice sits inside the LLP (checked 19 September 2026).
- Verdict: the Big Four option, with vendor due diligence, tax and lead advisory under one engagement. Ask for local lead-advisory completions.
12. Grant Thornton (Northern deals team)
- Evidence: "Tech and green deals help Grant Thornton to strong first half in North" (Business Live, 27 June 2024) and "Record year for Grant Thornton Northern deals team" (Consultancy.uk, 6 January 2025). No North West-specific 2025-26 deal captured.
- Registration: Grant Thornton UK LLP, FRN 231791, is directly authorised, and since the February 2025 split its advisory practice, Grant Thornton UK Advisory & Tax LLP, FRN 1024656, is an appointed representative of it (since 27 February 2025), so ask which LLP your engagement letter names (checked 19 September 2026).
- Verdict: the mid-tier accountancy deals team with the most consistent Northern press record.
13. FRP Corporate Finance
- Evidence: two North West headlines, "Commercial door and roller shutter specialist acquired by national group - FRP Corporate Finance advised" (Insider Media, 9 June 2025) and "FRP Corporate Finance advises on transport safety merger" (Accountancy Today, 16 July 2026). The Spectrum Corporate Finance domain now redirects to frpadvisory.com, so Spectrum is not a separate firm. FRP's site blocks automated readers, so no address was captured; the FCA register, checked on 19 September 2026, shows the authorised M&A arm as FRP Corporate Advisory Limited, FRN 716736, authorised since 1 April 2016, corporate finance business only, while FRP Advisory Group plc, the restructuring parent, is not itself on the register.
- Verdict: the deal-advisory arm of a restructuring-led group, useful where a sale sits alongside a refinancing.
14. Benchmark International (Manchester)
- Offices: the live site footer lists Manchester and Oxford as its UK offices (benchmarkintl.com, September 2026).
- Type: every tombstone uses the firm's own wording, "successfully facilitated the transaction between". Registration: Benchmark International is not on the FCA register as an authorised firm, appointed representative or exempt professional firm when we checked on 19 September 2026; ask the firm which exclusion or exemption it relies on, and read the national page's FCA-gate section for what that means; its only register history is an introducer appointed-representative link to St. James's Place Wealth Management that ended on 12 May 2022. Deal evidence: UK tombstones are undated, including Thermal Detection Limited and Thundercat Industries Limited.
- Verdict: the second volume-lane option; ask for dated UK completions in your size band.
KBS Corporate vs a corporate finance boutique: what is the difference?
The process, not the postcode. A volume business-sales house markets a listing to a buyer database and runs many mandates at once; a corporate finance boutique or an accountancy deals team curates a buyer list, builds competitive tension between a handful of bidders, structures the deal and manages diligence to completion. The K3 group contains both models. On a £1m sale the volume model is often right; on a £15m sale the boutique earns its fee if a second bidder moves the multiple by a fraction of a turn of EBITDA.
Is an AIM nomad the same as an M&A adviser?
No, and Manchester has the cleanest example. Zeus Capital Ltd's registered office is at 82 King Street, Manchester M2 4WQ, and its footer states that it "is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority; a member of the London Stock Exchange, and approved as a Nominated Adviser by AIM" (zeuscapital.co.uk), and the FCA register confirms it: Zeus Capital Limited, FRN 224621, authorised since 22 September 2003, head office 82 King Street (checked 19 September 2026). Its 2026 tombstones are overwhelmingly nomad and bookrunner roles on AIM placings, with one dated M&A role (financial adviser to LBG Media plc on its acquisition of Uncovered Holdings, 22 June 2026). If your business is private and you want a sale, look for private sell-side tombstones, not placings.
Who did we leave off, and why?
- Merged away. Beever and Struthers, Manchester-headquartered and "widely recognised as the UK's leading auditor to the social housing sector", merged into Menzies LLP by announcement of 4 August 2025; its corporate finance URL now redirects to the Menzies merger page. Its strength was audit for housing associations, not sell-side M&A.
- National houses without a verified Manchester office. Alantra (Alantra Corporate Finance LLP, FRN 478406 on the FCA register) has seven dated 2025-26 UK deals on its own releases, but its Manchester office page returned nothing, so I route it to the UK page. DC Advisory (Daiwa Corporate Advisory Limited, FRN 175853 on the FCA register) advised OMERS Private Equity on the sale of Network Plus, a North West-based utility-services contractor, to Warburg Pincus (30 June 2026); I could not verify a Manchester office, so it lives on the London page.
- Headline-only boutiques. Castle Square appears once, in an Insider Media headline of 28 January 2026, with no firm page found to verify it.
- Law firms and accountants counted as advisers. Addleshaw Goddard is legal adviser to Advanced Medical Solutions on its £653m takeover by H.B. Fuller (AG headline, 25 June 2026); Gorvins, Leonard Curtis Legal and Saffery acted on the Wilkinson Cowan deal. The financial advisers on the Advanced Medical Solutions deal were not in anything I read, so I name none.
- Big Four and mid-tier without North West evidence. PwC, Deloitte, EY, BDO, RSM and Forvis Mazars all have Manchester offices; the most recent North West deal release I found from any of them is RSM's May 2023 wealth-management investment, too old for this ledger.
- Houlihan Lokey. It has a Manchester office (Insider Media, 10 April 2025, reported managing-director promotions there), but I captured no North West deal with HL as adviser of record, so it stays a London page reference row; its authorised UK entity is Houlihan Lokey UK Limited, FRN 792919.
- Public-markets desks. Shore Capital (Shore Capital and Corporate Limited, FRN 146629, with a Liverpool office at 100 Old Hall Street), Peel Hunt (FRN 530083) and Panmure Liberum (FRN 403721) are nomads and brokers whose core is quoted companies.
What did North West advisers actually complete in 2025 and 2026?
Every row is the firm's own release or a named outlet's headline, with the date the source carries; the undated DSW and Cowgills deals sit in the bench rows above.
| Date | Deal | Adviser of record (role) | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 14 Sep 2026 | Koto (WestBridge-backed) acquires Stereo Creative | Dow Schofield Watts, North West Corporate Finance team (buy-side) | dswcapital.com | Completed |
| 11 Sep 2026 | CityFibre sells Entanet to Tom O'Hagan | Knight Corporate Finance (sell-side for CityFibre) | knightcf.com | Completed |
| 1 Sep 2026 | Origo sold to iPipeline (Roper Technologies) | GP Bullhound (exclusive financial adviser to Origo; London dateline) | gpbullhound.com | Completed |
| 25 Jun 2026 | Advanced Medical Solutions (Winsford) £653m takeover by H.B. Fuller | Addleshaw Goddard (legal adviser); financial advisers not captured | AG headline | Announced |
| 26 May 2026 | Wilkinson Cowan Partnership sold to Roger Hannah | HURST Corporate Finance (sell-side) | hurst.co.uk | Completed |
| 16 Apr 2026 | Creative Solutions (Manchester) sold | KBS Corporate (sell-side) | KBS headline via Google News | Completed per headline |
| 20 Mar 2026 | Managed IT provider acquired by counterpart | Knight Corporate Finance | Insider Media headline | Completed per headline |
| 19 Nov 2025 | Zuto majority investment from Bridgepoint Small Cap Growth | GP Bullhound (exclusive financial adviser to Zuto; Manchester dateline) | gpbullhound.com | Completed |
| 15 Aug 2025 | Travel Seen acquires eShores | Cowgills Deal Advisory (buy-side) | Cowgills item via Google News | Completed |
The dated 2026 completions belong to four firms: DSW, Knight, GP Bullhound and HURST. And the biggest North West deal of the year, a £653m public takeover of a Cheshire medtech company, shows no Manchester financial adviser in anything I read: the public-company lane runs through London.
What drives Manchester deal flow?
Technology, fintech and digital
The 2025-26 ledger is tech-heavy: a consumer-fintech marketplace (Zuto, Bridgepoint, GP Bullhound), a fibre operator's non-core disposal (Entanet, Knight), a creative-agency add-on for a sponsor-backed platform (Stereo Creative, DSW) and a managed-IT consolidation (Knight, March 2026). For a software, agency or channel business in 2026, the realistic buyers are sponsor-backed platforms doing add-ons, and the advisers with dated evidence of reaching them are GP Bullhound, Knight and DSW.
Who sells Cheshire and Lancashire manufacturing and food businesses?
DSW's Fylde Fresh and Fabulous sale to Chiltern Capital is the one food deal on the ledger, and Cowgills' undated list carries the manufacturing set: Solen Energy to Kingspan, Dekko Window Systems to Inwido, Anglo European Group to Amari Metals. The buyer pattern is strategic, with listed groups such as Kingspan plc and Inwido AB among the acquirers, and it argues for an adviser with a live European buyer list: DSW through Pandea Global M&A, or Marktlink through its Dutch and German offices.
Professional services and the consolidation wave
Wilkinson Cowan to Roger Hannah (HURST), Absolute Financial Group's acquisition of Platinum IFS (DSW) and GreenThumb to KEYTO (Cowgills) are all services roll-ups, and the accountancy profession is consolidating the same way: HURST into Dains, Beever and Struthers into Menzies, BHP into Sumer (Addleshaw Goddard headline, 10 December 2025). If you own a Manchester professional-services firm, your buyer is probably a sponsor-backed platform, and your adviser may be one too.
Healthcare, life sciences and MediaCity
Advanced Medical Solutions' £653m takeover by H.B. Fuller, announced 25 June 2026, is the year's headline deal for the region and is a Winsford, Cheshire, AIM-listed company; Cowgills' undated Alderley Analytical sale to Synexa Life Sciences is the private-market example. The lane exists; the dated adviser-of-record evidence in it is thin. MediaCity at Salford Quays is run by Media City Salford Limited under Landsec branding; the only MediaCity-linked deal on any list I read is Cowgills' undated Edit19 sale to dock10, and I print no tenant or ownership figures because I verified none.
How do UK tax and law change a Manchester sale?
The rules are national and the UK guide owns them in full, so here is the one paragraph a Manchester seller needs. Business Asset Disposal Relief taxes qualifying gains at 18% for disposals from 6 April 2026 on a £1 million lifetime limit, against a 24% main higher-rate CGT rate, so the relief now saves at most £60,000 over a lifetime; the national page carries the rate history, the qualifying conditions and the worked arithmetic (gov.uk). Arranging the sale of shares is a specified activity under article 25 of the Regulated Activities Order, which is why the registration question below is not academic, and the national page's FCA section explains the three lawful routes. If the target sits in one of the National Security and Investment Act's 17 sensitive areas and the buyer crosses 25%, 50% or 75%, the acquisition is notifiable (gov.uk NSI guidance). Share sale versus asset sale, stamp duty, TUPE and employee ownership trust relief are all on the national page; the one Manchester observation is that almost every North West deal on the ledger is a share sale, and a firm that steers you toward an asset sale may be doing so because it is not authorised to arrange the sale of shares, so ask why. Confirm all of it with a UK tax adviser before heads of terms.
What do Manchester corporate finance advisers charge, and what should you negotiate?
No firm on this page publishes a fee schedule and I have found no dated UK-only fee survey, so the honest answer is the European survey plus the structure. The Firmex Europe M&A Fee Guide 2024-25 (PDF, May 2025; 289 European mid-market adviser responses, Germany, the UK and Switzerland the largest groups; all figures in US dollars) reports average success fees of 4.3% on a $5 million deal, 3.0% on $20 million and 1.7% on $100 million, and notes that "at nearly every deal size, fee levels were lower in 2024 than in 2023". Loosely converted, a £4m sale runs at roughly 4% and a £15m sale at roughly 3%. Structure: 40% of firms use a Lehman-style scale (classically 5% on the first million, stepping down to 1% above $5 million); the guide's model engagement letter carries "a monthly work fee of $5,000 to $10,000 that is in addition to any success fee", more than three-quarters of firms write in a minimum success fee, 35% impose a break-up fee if the client rejects a bona fide offer, and 64% pass the data room cost to the client. Keep it apart from the US survey in our M&A adviser fees guide, whose 2024-25 US figures (4.8%, 3.4%, 2.0%) rose while the European ones fell; the retainer credit, minimum, abort fee, tail and exclusivity terms to negotiate are in the fee FAQ below.
How do I verify a Manchester corporate finance adviser before I sign?
Start with three registers and one footer. Search the entity on Companies House and read the persons-with-significant-control filing, because this year that is the question: it tells you whether you are signing with an independent partnership, an AIM-listed licensing group, a Sun European Partners portfolio company or a Dains subsidiary. Search the firm on the FCA's Financial Services Register and confirm whether it is directly authorised, an appointed representative of an authorised principal, or absent; the FCA's own page explains that an appointed representative "carries on regulated activity under the responsibility of an authorised firm, known as the principal".
Then read the footer, which is what I call the Footer Test. On this page: HURST prints an ICAEW investment-business licence, C006671639; Zeus prints an FCA authorisation line without a firm reference number; Knight and KBS print company numbers and no regulator; DSW prints only the DSW Capital plc copyright line and Cowgills only its registered office, neither with a regulator line; Cavendish, Clearwater, FRP and Benchmark International either wall the page or print nothing on the pages I read. A footer is a claim and the register is the check, so I ran the check on 19 September 2026 and every firm on this page has an outcome. Directly authorised with a firm reference number: Zeus Capital Limited (FRN 224621), GP Bullhound Corporate Finance Ltd (FRN 915053), Cavendish Capital Markets Limited (FRN 467766), Clearwater Corporate Finance LLP (FRN 483062), Arrowpoint Advisory as a trading name of N M Rothschild & Sons Limited (FRN 124451), FRP Corporate Advisory Limited (FRN 716736), KPMG LLP (FRN 210513) and Grant Thornton UK LLP (FRN 231791, with Grant Thornton UK Advisory & Tax LLP, FRN 1024656, as its appointed representative since 27 February 2025). Licensed by the ICAEW under the Designated Professional Body regime and listed on the FCA register as exempt professional firms, not FCA-authorised: Dow Schofield Watts, HURST Accountants Limited and Cowgills Corporate Finance Limited. Not on the FCA register as an authorised firm, appointed representative or exempt professional firm: Knight Corporate Finance, KBS Corporate, Marktlink and Benchmark International, which is common and can be lawful, so ask each which exclusion or exemption it relies on and read the national page's FCA-gate section for what that means. The register also carries clone-firm warnings for the Rothschild, Houlihan Lokey, Shore Capital, Alantra, Lazard and Evercore names, so match the FRN, not the name. Finally, ask for completed deals in the last 24 months with the counterparty named and the date, then find the firm's own release. On this bench, DSW, Knight, GP Bullhound and HURST pass that test for 2026; Cowgills and KBS pass it with a headline date; the national desks with a Manchester address do not yet.
How do you sell a business in Manchester, step by step?
Plan on six to nine months from a signed engagement to completion.
- Preparation (months 1-3). Tidy the statutory books, resolve the shareholders' agreement and any drag-along, and have your accountant produce a normalised EBITDA with defensible add-backs. Decide the route: trade sale, sponsor recapitalisation, or EOT.
- Adviser selection (month 3). Interview three firms from different tiers, apply the Footer Test and the 24-month completion test, and ask the Adviser-Consolidation Clock question.
- Vendor due diligence and the room (months 3-5). Build the data room before the teaser goes out, not after heads of terms; commission vendor due diligence if the buyer pool is sponsor-led.
- Marketing (months 5-7). A blind teaser to a curated list, the information memorandum after an executed NDA, management presentations, indicative offers, then heads of terms with exclusivity.
- Confirmatory diligence (months 7-9). Financial, legal, tax and commercial diligence in the room; the disclosure letter; warranty and indemnity insurance if the buyer is a sponsor, which caps your liability under the share purchase agreement at a nominal sum but excludes anything disclosed in the room, so the room defines the cover.
- Completion. Share purchase agreement, stock transfer forms, the buyer's 0.5% stamp duty, a completion-accounts or locked-box mechanism, and your BADR claim on your return.
What is vendor due diligence, and do I need it before going to market?
Vendor due diligence is a report on your own business, usually financial and tax, commissioned by you and addressed to bidders; on a sponsor-led process it is close to standard, and it surfaces owner-dependency, customer concentration and the add-back arguments before a buyer does. The accountancy-led firms on this page sell it alongside lead advisory, so ask who issues the VDD if the same firm is running your sale.
Which data room should a Manchester seller use?
You need one from the first buyer conversation, and where the likely bidder is a competitor across Spinningfields or a sponsor platform whose last add-on was your rival, the room is the confidentiality system, not a file cabinet. A data room is a permissioned online workspace where buyers review your financials, contracts and employee records under NDA. The requirements: a separate room per bidder; NDA gates on sensitive folders; dynamic watermarks that stamp each viewer's identity on every page; auto-indexing so the file is complete before the teaser; and page-level analytics to see which bidder actually read the add-back schedule.
The honest landscape:
| Vendor | Best for | Pricing (2026) | Strength |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peony | Manchester sub-£100m EV with a boutique or accountancy-led adviser | $52/admin/mo flat (Data Room plan), about £38 | Unlimited rooms, page analytics, NDA gates, dynamic watermarks; 5-minute setup |
| Datasite | £200m+ and public takeovers | $25K+/year; per-page $0.40-0.85 legacy | Deepest banker workflow integration |
| Intralinks (SS&C) | Regulated financial-services data | $7,500 starting; $4K-$25K+/year | Deepest information-rights controls |
| Imprima | Counsel mandates UK-soil hosting | Quote-based | Hosts on its own servers in Slough and Frankfurt |
| Firmex | Advisers running concurrent mandates | ~$7,800/year average (Vendr) | Predictable cost; unlimited users |
| iDeals | Mid-market international | Quote-based | Strong UI, 24/7 support |
Bottom line: For a Manchester technology, services, manufacturing or healthcare sale under roughly £100m, Peony's Data Room plan at $52 per admin per month (about £38) gives you per-viewer watermarks, signed-NDA gates, a custom domain, unlimited bidder rooms and page-level analytics at a flat rate; Datasite and Intralinks are the right call above £200m or where counsel requires them, and Imprima or Peony's Enterprise plan where counsel mandates UK-soil hosting.
We make Peony, so this is honest disclosure: for a £200m-plus sale or a Takeover Code transaction, most counsel will recommend Datasite or Intralinks. On residency, I say exactly what our UK data room providers guide says and nothing more: Peony's standard plans process data in the United States (AWS us-east-1) under Standard Contractual Clauses with a DPA and a published sub-processor list, and UK/EU data residency, BYOK and self-hosted deployment are available on the Enterprise plan. The tiers, plainly: the permanent Free tier at $0 gives you password-protected links, link expiry and analytics; Business at $30 per admin per month adds view-only mode, screenshot protection, revocation and a simple NDA; Data Room at $52 adds dynamic watermarks, a signed NDA and a custom domain; Deal Team at $64 adds redaction and archive download, all billed annually. Peony holds a 4.8 on G2 and a 4.9 on Capterra, and 6,800+ customers run rooms on it today.
Frequently asked questions about Manchester M&A advisers
Who are the best M&A advisers in Manchester?
Ranked on dated adviser-of-record evidence rather than reputation, five firms lead: Dow Schofield Watts (Daresbury HQ and a Manchester office at Cubo Spinningfields; Koto's acquisition of Stereo Creative, 14 September 2026), Knight Corporate Finance (Mount Street; CityFibre's sale of Entanet, 11 September 2026), GP Bullhound (Manchester office since 2011; Zuto's majority investment from Bridgepoint, 19 November 2025), HURST Corporate Finance (Stockport; Wilkinson Cowan Partnership to Roger Hannah, 26 May 2026) and Cowgills (Bolton; GreenThumb to KEYTO Group, undated). KBS Corporate and Benchmark International run the volume business-sales lane; Cavendish, Arrowpoint Advisory, Clearwater and Marktlink are national and international desks with a Manchester presence and no captured North West deal since 2025; KPMG, Grant Thornton and FRP are the accountancy-led teams. HURST is now part of Dains Group, Beever and Struthers merged into Menzies, and KeyCorp completed its acquisition of Clearwater's UK business on 4 August 2026.
Which Manchester advisers handle deals under £10m?
The accountancy-led firms and the volume lane, with DSW at the top of the band. HURST (Stockport; Wilkinson Cowan Partnership to Roger Hannah, 26 May 2026), Cowgills (Bolton, Manchester, Liverpool, Stockport, Wigan; the widest published North West list at the lower end, undated) and DSW's North West team (the Fylde Fresh and Fabulous and Platinum IFS cards) have the published lower-mid-market deals, and KBS Corporate covers the sub-£2m listing market from Bolton, with Benchmark International the second volume option. From £10m upward, DSW and Knight Corporate Finance carry the dated 2026 completions; at £30m-plus, GP Bullhound (technology), Arrowpoint Advisory and Clearwater pitch for the sponsor and international-buyer processes, and Cavendish adds growth equity and AIM as alternatives to a sale. No firm on this page publishes a deal-size band, so ask each one for completed deals inside your band in the last 24 months.
Should a North West owner hire a Manchester adviser or a London one?
Decide by buyer universe, not postcode, and notice that London has already come to Manchester: Cavendish announced a Manchester office at No.1 St Michael's in November 2024, Rothschild & Co's Arrowpoint Advisory built a North West team under Shahbaz Qasim in May 2025, and GP Bullhound has run a Manchester office since 2011. Below roughly £50m, with UK trade or sponsor buyers, a Manchester firm with dated local completions usually wins on buyer knowledge and cost. Between roughly £50m and £100m, interview one Manchester firm and one London or international desk and pick on the buyer list each shows you. Above that, or when your realistic buyers are US or European strategics, the London page's sector specialists earn the fee; the ONS's Q2 2026 figures show foreign buyers accounted for about six times the value of domestic ones.
Is K3 the most active M&A adviser in the UK, and does that matter for my sale?
K3 Advisory Group states in a 2 September 2026 release that Experian named it the UK's No.1 adviser in a "resilient" UK M&A market, and that LSEG has ranked it No.1 annually since 2017; both are deal-count tables, which count completed deals and are dominated by small ones, so they are the group's own statements about deal count, not a value rank and not a fit test. The group has two Manchester-area faces: KBS Corporate, the volume business-sales brand in Bolton, and Knight Corporate Finance, the technology boutique on Mount Street with a dated 2026 completion, both under a group that its own site says Sun European Partners acquired in 2023. For a sub-£2m sale the volume model is often right; for a £10m-plus sale, ask for completed deals in your size band and sector in the last 24 months, whichever brand is pitching.
Does my Manchester corporate finance adviser need to be FCA-authorised?
If the adviser arranges or advises on the sale of your shares, that is a regulated activity under article 25 of the Regulated Activities Order, so the firm needs direct FCA authorisation, appointed-representative status under an authorised principal, or an ICAEW Designated Professional Body licence; the national UK guide covers the perimeter in full. On this page, the FCA register pass of 19 September 2026 confirmed four names as directly authorised: Zeus Capital Limited (FRN 224621), GP Bullhound Corporate Finance Ltd (FRN 915053), Cavendish Capital Markets Limited (FRN 467766) and Clearwater Corporate Finance LLP (FRN 483062). The same pass found Arrowpoint Advisory as a trading name of N M Rothschild & Sons Limited (FRN 124451), FRP Corporate Advisory Limited (FRN 716736), KPMG LLP (FRN 210513) and Grant Thornton UK LLP (FRN 231791) directly authorised; listed Dow Schofield Watts, HURST and Cowgills as ICAEW Designated Professional Body exempt professional firms, not FCA-authorised, which is a lawful route for accountancy-led corporate finance; and found no record for Knight Corporate Finance, KBS Corporate, Marktlink or Benchmark International, so ask those four which exclusion or exemption they rely on, and confirm that the entity named on any engagement letter holds permission to arrange deals in investments.
What has changed in Manchester's adviser market since 2024?
Five things, each dated. Cavendish announced a Manchester office at No.1 St Michael's in November 2024. Rothschild & Co's Arrowpoint Advisory hired Shahbaz Qasim to lead a Manchester-based North West mid-market team in May 2025. Beever and Struthers, a Manchester-headquartered accountancy firm, merged into London-headquartered Menzies LLP by announcement of 4 August 2025. HURST, the Stockport accountancy firm, became part of Dains Group, an IK Partners-backed Midlands group, on 27 January 2026. And KeyCorp, the parent of KeyBanc Capital Markets, announced on 22 April 2026 that it would acquire Clearwater's UK business, Clearwater Corporate Finance LLP, and completed the deal on 4 August 2026 after FCA clearance; the price was not disclosed. Before signing a twelve-month engagement, ask who owns the firm today, who will own it at completion, and what happens to your team and fee terms if that changes.
Should a Manchester owner sell to an employee ownership trust instead of a trade buyer?
Only if you value continuity and a 0% CGT position over price and cash at completion. A disposal of a controlling interest to a qualifying EOT is treated as no gain, no loss, but Finance Act 2025 Schedule 6 made the conditions statutory for disposals on or after 30 October 2024 and added a four-tax-year clawback; the national UK guide sets the conditions out in full. The consideration is usually paid from future profits over years, so you carry the company's credit risk, while a trade sale pays cash at completion with Business Asset Disposal Relief at 18% on the first £1m of lifetime gains and 24% above it. The Manchester-specific point: HURST is the only firm on this page with published employee-ownership engagements (Instinct Resourcing, and TNEI through its tax team), so start there if the EOT route is live.
How does Business Asset Disposal Relief affect a North West business sale in 2026?
It has already changed: the rate on qualifying gains is 18% for disposals from 6 April 2026, after 14% in 2025-26 and 10% before that, on a £1 million lifetime limit, against a 24% main higher-rate CGT rate, so the relief now saves at most £60,000 over a lifetime, down from £100,000 under the 14% rate. That matters most at the HURST and Cowgills end of this bench, where the relief is a visible share of the proceeds, and least on a £30m-plus process. The national UK guide carries the qualifying conditions and the worked arithmetic; confirm your position with a UK tax adviser before heads of terms.
What do Manchester corporate finance advisers charge?
No Manchester firm on this page publishes a fee schedule, so the fee section above quotes the closest dated survey, the Firmex Europe M&A Fee Guide 2024-25, and the national UK guide carries it in full. What you can control is the structure, so get five things in writing before you sign: whether the monthly work fee is credited against the success fee; the minimum success fee and what triggers it; the abort or break-up fee and whether it applies to an offer you reject on price; the tail period during which a sale to an introduced buyer still owes a fee, with 12 to 24 months common; and an exclusivity term tied to milestones rather than the calendar. Then add vendor due diligence, tax and legal costs before comparing the total with a buyer's first number.
I'm 60 and still run my Manchester business day to day; can I sell without a management team?
Yes, with a discount attached to three specific things: customer relationships held personally, pricing authority that sits with you, and no second signatory a buyer can rely on. In 12 to 24 months you can fix the second and third by delegating pricing to a named manager and putting a finance director or controller in front of the numbers, and partly fix the first by moving your key accounts to an operations lead before the buyer meets them; a customer contract that names you personally cannot be fixed in that time. The usual answers are a sponsor recapitalisation where you roll equity and sign a two-to-three-year transition, or a strategic buyer that supplies management and prices the dependency into the offer; commission vendor due diligence early so the dependency surfaces on your terms.
Which advisers sell Manchester tech and digital businesses?
Three firms carry dated 2025-26 technology deals from the North West: GP Bullhound (Zuto's majority investment from Bridgepoint, 19 November 2025, Manchester dateline; Origo's sale to iPipeline, 1 September 2026), Knight Corporate Finance (CityFibre's sale of Entanet, 11 September 2026; a managed-IT sale reported by Insider Media on 20 March 2026) and Dow Schofield Watts (Koto's acquisition of Stereo Creative, 14 September 2026). Cavendish's Manchester office covers growth equity and AIM listings for founders weighing an IPO against a sale. For a software, agency or channel business whose buyers are sponsor-backed consolidators, start with those three.
Which data room do North West advisers use?
It splits by deal size. On large banker-led processes and public takeovers the defaults are Datasite and Intralinks; on £2m-£50m mid-market sales, advisers increasingly use self-serve rooms they can stand up the same day, and European-native rooms such as Imprima, which hosts in Slough and Frankfurt, where counsel mandates UK-soil hosting. What a Manchester seller needs from any of them is per-bidder rooms, an NDA gate before anything opens, staged disclosure that keeps staff data and customer-level pricing behind a post-heads-of-terms gate, per-viewer watermarks, and page-level analytics showing which bidder read the add-back schedule. That is the workflow I built Peony for: the Data Room plan at $52 per admin per month billed annually, about £38, carries dynamic watermarks, signed-NDA gates, a custom domain and unlimited rooms; view-only mode, screenshot protection, revocation and a simple NDA start on Business at $30; there is a permanent free tier with password-protected links, expiry and analytics; Peony holds a 4.8 on G2 and a 4.9 on Capterra; and 6,800+ customers run processes on it today. Standard plans process data in the United States under Standard Contractual Clauses, with UK/EU residency on the Enterprise plan, as our UK data room providers guide sets out.
Related resources
- Best M&A Advisers in the UK — the national guide: BADR, EOT, NSIA and the FCA perimeter
- Best M&A Advisers in London — the London bench and sector specialists
- Best M&A Advisors — the master hub
- Best Data Room Providers in the UK — pricing in pounds, UK GDPR and residency
- M&A adviser fees: what you actually pay — Lehman arithmetic and retainer credits, US-weighted
- How to Build an M&A Data Room — the staged-disclosure playbook
- How to Write a CIM — the memorandum that follows the teaser
This article reflects my views as of September 2026 and is informational, not legal, tax or investment advice. Firm ownership, names and offices change; verify every firm on the FCA's Financial Services Register and at Companies House, and confirm statute text on legislation.gov.uk before relying on it. I am the co-founder of Peony, a data room company; where I mention Peony I have flagged the interest.
You might also like
Sep 19, 2026
Best M&A Advisers in the UK (2026): London, Manchester and the Regions
Sep 19, 2026
Best M&A Advisers in London (2026): the Mid-Market Bench, Tiered and Dated
Sep 19, 2026
Best M&A Advisors in Canada (2026): Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, Montreal

