Data Room Pricing Index
As of November 5, 2026, the median published entry price for a data room is about $249 a month on annual billing, across the 14 of 25 vendors that publish one, and about $342 a month on the shortest term. 10 vendors don't publish a price at all. Every list price below was read from the vendor's own pricing page, and third-party figures are labeled with their source and date.
Updated November 5, 2026. Reviewed monthly. Maintained by Sean Yu at Peony, which is also listed here.
What do data rooms with published prices cost?
14 vendors publish a working data room price, from $30 a month to about $509 a month on annual billing. Prices are the cheapest working plan, per month, sorted low to high. Per-admin and per-user prices are for the plan minimum.
| Vendor | Entry plan | Monthly, billed annually | Monthly, shortest term | Pricing model | Limits on that plan | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peony | Business | $30 | $44 | per admin | Priced per admin; viewers unlimited; 100 GB; 3 per admin; 1,000 documents per admin | peony.ink/pricing |
| Drooms | Professional | €44 (about $50) | €49 (about $55) | flat subscription by storage and user licences | 2 user licences; 500 MB; EUR 88/GB/mo annual, EUR 98 monthly; Unlimited data room projects | drooms.com/pricing |
| Ansarada | Essentials 50 MB | $69 | $99 | storage tier by term, per room | Essentials: 5 internal users, unlimited external; 50 MB (ladder to 20 GB); Per room | ansarada.com/pricing |
| Papermark | Data Rooms (Base) | $119 | $179 | flat tier with included seats | 3 team members included; Unlimited encrypted storage; Unlimited | papermark.com/pricing |
| Digify | Pro | $150 | $200 | flat tier with user, room and guest quotas | 1 user; 100 GB; 3 data rooms; 50 data room guests | digify.com/pricing |
| DocSend | Advanced | $150 | $250 | flat tier with included seats | 3 users included; 50 GB/user; 2 GB upload limit; 2,000 assets per data room; Unlimited rooms | docsend.com/pricing |
| Fordata | LITE | €220 (about $248) | €275 (about $310) | storage and user tier | 15 users (more available); 1 GB (more available); Not stated | fordatagroup.com/pricing |
| SecureDocs | 12-month plan | $250 | $400 | flat room | Unlimited; Not capped on page (unlimited documents); Not stated; multi-deal volume packages quoted | onit.com/products/clm/securedocs |
| Onehub | Data Room Edition | $300 | $375 | flat tier for Data Room Edition; per user for portal tiers | 5 paid users included; 1,000 total users; Unlimited; 200 workspaces | onehub.com/pricing |
| ShareFile | Virtual Data Room | $347 | $385 | per user | 5-user minimum; unlimited client users; 1 GB per license (5 GB at minimum); Not stated | sharefile.com/plans |
| FirmRoom | 2GB | $395 | $395 | storage tier | Unlimited internal and external (trial capped at 10); 2 GB total; 1 active room | firmroom.com/pricing |
| CapLinked | Team | $399 | $399 | flat tier | 2 administrators per the trial FAQ's Team description; unlimited guests; 5 GB (trial 500 MB); 1 workspace per the trial FAQ's Team description | caplinked.com/pricing |
| Dillien | Single room | €420 (about $473) | €600 (about $676) | flat room | Unlimited; Unlimited documents; storage not metered; Per room; portfolios custom | dillien.com/pricing |
| Virtual Vaults | Basic | €452 (about $509) | €754 (about $850) | flat tier by sell-side users | Up to 3 sell-side users; unlimited buy-side; Unlimited; Not stated | virtualvaults.com/data-room-pricing |
Plans aren't like for like. Peony's $30 Business entry includes an NDA gate but not per-folder permissions or dynamic watermarks, which start on its $52 Data Room plan, while some entries here include them. Where a vendor shows one price, it appears on both billing bases. Fordata's annual figure is computed from its 20% yearly discount. Euro prices are converted at 1.1267 USD per EUR (ECB reference rate, November 4, 2026). Tax is excluded. Your price may differ with users, storage and term.
Which data rooms don't publish prices?
10 vendors sell by quote, including the largest enterprise platforms. Where a third party reports a figure, it's shown with its source and date. Treat those as rough guides, not list prices.
| Vendor | How it prices | Reported figures | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ideals | Quote-only | from $500/month (Papermark (competitor) Ideals pricing guide, July 21, 2026) | idealsvdr.com/virtual-data-room-pricing |
| Firmex | Quote-only | $7,783 average contract; max around $10,000; minimum not given (Vendr buyer guide, read November 5, 2026) | firmex.com/pricing |
| DealRoom | Quote-only | $35,677 median; $28,958-$52,000 range; Unlimited Projects list $70,000/yr (Vendr marketplace, undated page, read November 5, 2026)starts at $20,000/year (FirmRoom pricing page, read November 5, 2026) | dealroom.net/products/pricing |
| Intralinks | Quote-only | $13,950 median; $10,000-$150,803 range (Vendr buyer guide, February 2026) | intralinks.com/pricing |
| Datasite | Quote-only | $25,555 median; $2,680-$46,300 range (Vendr marketplace, read November 5, 2026)$68,121 average contract; max around $190,000 (Vendr buyer guide, read November 5, 2026) | datasite.com/en/pricing |
| DFIN Venue | Quote-only | None we could verify | dfinsolutions.com/products/venue |
| ShareVault | Quote-only | Express from $199/mo (ITQlick, read November 5, 2026) | sharevault.com/pricing |
| EthosData | Quote-only | None we could verify | ethosdata.com/dataroom-pricing |
| Imprima | Quote-only | EUR 250/mo Introductory Package, 500 MB; EUR 0.50/MB above (Zoftwarehub, read November 5, 2026) | imprima.com/pricing |
| SmartRoom | Quote-only | None we could verify | smartroom.com |
Box publishes rates, from $15 per user per month billed annually with a 3-user minimum, but has no dedicated data room plan, so it isn't in the median.
How is this index built?
Each vendor's entry is its cheapest paid plan that works as a data room: multi-folder rooms, per-visitor or per-folder permissions, and an NDA or access gate. A price counts as published if anyone can see it without a form or a sales call. We left out vendors whose pages don't show a working room, such as SmartVDR, which lists prices from $149 a month but states no NDA gate.
The median covers 14 vendors: Peony, SecureDocs, Digify, FirmRoom, CapLinked, Onehub, DocSend, ShareFile, Virtual Vaults, Ansarada, Papermark, Drooms, Fordata, Dillien. It's sensitive to plan choice. If Drooms is measured on its Business plan instead of Professional, the annual-billing median moves from about $249 to about $275.
Our own data room cost guide uses a narrower 16-vendor table, so its median of about $275 differs. Use this index for the data, and the guide for how pricing models work. For an estimate at your own deal size, try the data room cost calculator, or see how vendors score on openness in the VDR Pricing Transparency Index.
What changed in this edition?
- First edition of the standalone index, widening our earlier table from 16 to 25 vendors.
- Digify Pro is $150 a month on annual billing and $200 monthly, up from $140 and $190 in our November 1 table.
- DocSend's entry moved to its Advanced plan, at $150 on annual billing and $250 monthly, which meets the same working-room test as other vendors' entry plans.
- Ansarada's entry moved to Essentials 50 MB, at $69 on a 12-month term and $99 on a one-month term.
How should you cite this data?
Cite it as: Peony Data Room Pricing Index, November 5, 2026, https://www.peony.ink/tools/data-room-pricing-index. Please note that Peony publishes the index and sells a data room.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a data room cost per month?
The median published entry price is about $249 a month on annual billing and about $342 a month on the shortest term, across the 14 vendors in this index that publish a working data room price. Entry plans differ a lot in what they include, so compare storage, rooms and users too. Peony starts at $30 per admin per month on Business, with data rooms, an NDA gate and free viewers.
Which data rooms publish their prices?
14 of the 25 vendors here publish a working data room price: Peony, SecureDocs, Digify, FirmRoom, CapLinked, Onehub, DocSend, ShareFile, Virtual Vaults, Ansarada, Papermark, Drooms, Fordata, Dillien. Box publishes rates but has no dedicated data room plan. The other 10 are quote-only, including Datasite, Intralinks, Ideals and Firmex.
What is the cheapest data room with published pricing?
Peony Business has the lowest published entry price in this index, at $30 per admin per month billed annually, though it doesn't include per-folder permissions or dynamic watermarks, which start on Peony Data Room at $52. Drooms also has a free Starter tier with 3 data room projects, 150 MB and 2 user licences, which this index doesn't count because it uses paid plans. The next lowest entries carry tight limits: Drooms Professional includes 2 user licences and 500 MB, and Ansarada Essentials includes 50 MB. Check the limits before you compare prices, because the cheapest plan may not fit your deal.
How much does Datasite cost?
Datasite doesn't publish prices, so any figure is an estimate. Vendr's marketplace page shows a $25,555 median, and its buyer guide shows a $68,121 average contract with a maximum around $190,000. Both are small samples, and the two pages disagree, so ask for a written quote. Peony publishes its prices, from $30 per admin per month.
Why does this index use the cheapest working plan?
It gives a fair, repeatable floor: the cheapest paid plan with multi-folder rooms, per-visitor or per-folder permissions, and an NDA or access gate. Free tiers are recorded but not used as entry prices. Peony's Free plan isn't counted, because data rooms start on Business.
How often is this index updated?
We re-check each vendor's published pricing each month and change the date only after that review. The last review was November 5, 2026. If a price here is wrong, tell us at sean@peony.ink and we'll correct it.
Want a data room at a published price?
Peony bills per admin, with free viewers and no per-page fees. See plans and pricing.
